top of page
  • Writer's pictureHollie

April Reading Wrap Up

'Ambition was the deadliest sin of all.'

- King of Fools by Amanda Foody


Hiya, my lovelies. I hope everyone is doing well during these unprecedented times and is staying inside, following the advice we’ve been given.

In this lockdown, my usual routine has been knocked completely off balance. Normally I would be going to college and revising for my A Levels but now I have nowhere to be, no deadlines to meet, and nobody expecting me to do any work. It a very strange experience for any student.

I thought this would all effect my motivation, and I was fully expecting to be sat on my sofa watching movies until I knew Netflix off by heart. However, in a lovely turn of events, I feel like I’ve fallen in love with reading again and been pulled out of the reading slump which started the year.


So here are the books I read in April:

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K Rowling

Harry Potter, the boy who discovers he belongs to a world of magic and adventure, where celebrity greets him for his presence on the same tragic night his parents died. Full of the magic of Hogwarts, the power of friendship, and the true meaning of strength.


It's definitely true for me that returning to these books feels like returning home. No matter what, a level of nostalgia and comfort will always come from this story, a warmth that will never die. Throughout the year, I hope to reread the whole series, but I know anything to be true, it's that my opinion on this series will never be an objective one.


Rating: 5/5 stars


2. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger

A story of teenage angst and finding your place in the world. Holden Caulfield has been kicked out of school and is trying to remain underground in New York so as to not have to face the music with his parents. 'The Catcher in the Rye' is a novel of self exploration, while we follow Holden attempting to see past all of the things he perceives as fake in order to know himself.


Going into this, I thought I would fall in love. Largely I was disappointed. I had issues with the narrative voice, I didn't engage with the writing style overly well and I feel like a lot of the potential of this book was lost. That being said, there were parts of this novel that I thoroughly enjoyed, specifically when looking at how young people try to understand the world around them and where they fit, as well as touching on the falsities that we ignore in society. I feel like the latter could have been handled better, or explored in more depth, rather than purely focusing on Holden's hatred of people he perceives as fake. However, I also believe that there is an interesting exploration of family dynamics and forging your own path and identity in the world within Salinger's work.


Rating: 3/5 stars


3. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Immerse in a post-literary society, where people are taught how to do something rather than why something is to be done; where rather than putting fires out, firemen set fire to the books that now pose a threat. But Montag, a fireman himself, is experiencing a growing discontent within his life. Maybe the key to his happiness lies in the books he is tasked with burning; maybe those books hold his destruction; and maybe those two things aren't that different.


While it took me a while to fully understand this society, I feel like this is an important and increasingly prevalent book. In a world of social media and the tabloid press, I feel like a reminder as to the importance of engaging with the diverse ideology of books, and the ethically debates and belief systems outlined within them aids in the understand of culture and the cultivation of wishing for knowledge. Knowledge is power, and this books outlines that so beautifully.


Rating: 4/5 stars



4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Gatsby appears to have it all, down to the Long Island mansion and parties attended by anybody and everybody, from neighbours to film stars. But he's also the talk of the parties, everyone trying to understand the mystery that is Gatsby. Yet his secrets lie within his hidden affections and the hope that those affections may be returned.


I listened to 'The Great Gatsby' on audio book and thoroughly enjoyed myself. While I had my issues with Gatsby as a character; the charm of the story filled with opulence and the heady freedom of the Roaring 20s, I absolutely adored. The phrasing used by Fitzgerald made me ache to keep listening and to engage further with this story. The issues that I had largely did come from characterisation but all around I thoroughly I enjoyed my experience and I won't hesitate to pick up more Fitzgerald in the near future.


Rating: 4/5 stars


5. King of Fools by Amanda Foody (Shadow Game Series #2)

We pick up where 'Ace of Shades' (The first book in 'The Shadow Game Series') left off, and rather than having ten days to experience the fall out of previous events, as in the first book, our story takes place over several months. New Reynes is becoming increasingly dangerous, with political agendas running high and a war against the gangs being waged by the South Side. It may be known as the City of Sin, but how far are the sinners willing to go to win?


I absolutely flew through this book. We have three perspectives which this story is told from, which allows us to be fully emerged in the event that are happening throughout the city of New Reynes at any given moment. I feel Foody truly tackled developing her characters and creating a story of strength, ambition, trust, risk and friendship. Not only did the characters grow within themselves, they grew within their relationships and, while at times this caused conflict, it was thoroughly intriguing to watch these young adults find their place in their world. Following on, one of my largest pieces of praise for Amanda Foody comes from the causal representation of sexuality and it's fluidity, without bringing into question sexual orientation but rather showcasing that it is not necessary to justify this to anyone. It is beautifully done, and is a huge leap in the right direction for LGBTQ+ representation in literature. Furthermore, Foody creates an electric atmosphere within the novel, where you feel fully immersed within the world and the lives of the characters.


New Reynes is a game, one where I'm not sure if anyone can ever truly win, but I think reading 'The Shadow Games Series' is also playing a game...and nobody comes out without their heart breaking.


Rating: 5/5 stars



6. The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

Follow the heart wrenching true story of Lale and Gita Sokolov, two Slovakian Jews who were transported to Auschwitz in the midst of WW2. Lale is tasked with tattooing identification numbers on those selected to survive upon arrival to the concentration camp and here he meets a girl. Amidst the horrors and barbaric events that occur daily in Auschwitz, those with nothing can still provide hope. A story of love, loss, friendship, fear and survival.


Morris does something unique with this books. Rather than writing the events in history, she tells a story of humanity and the personal experiences that litter our past. The reason I think this is an important book is because it fosters understanding. I came away with a wizened eye as to, not purely to events that occurred in concentration camps at the hands of Nazis, but the experiences and connection between those in turmoil. Rather than focusing on the history, this book focuses on humanity and memory. Those who ignore history are doomed to repeat, but those who are ignorant to the experiences of people in history are doomed to never understand it. I urge you to connect with the humanity found in 'The Tattooist of Auschwitz' and it's heart wrenching and moving story. I cried, but it felt important to keep reading through my tears, turning each page to understand the suffering of the past. While I was reading this book, I debated what to rate it, with my main criticism being a lack of detailed description in favour of relying on dialogue and telling the reader what is happening rather than showing. However, in the end I believe the simplicity of the writing style only brings further focus onto the complexity of this story.


Rating: 5/5 stars



I hope everyone is staying safe, and spending time enjoying some good reads. I'd love to hear about any of your favourites you've been reading, and if you want to keep up to date with what I'm currently reading then be sure to check out my Goodreads and my Bookstagram.


Enjoy it all


Hollie


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page