top of page
  • Writer's pictureHollie

Use Your Voice, Find Your Strength

'Choose people who lift you up.'

- Michelle Obama

I'm tired - I'm mentally and physically exhausted - due to suffocation I feel at the hands of the patriarchy that is still at play in this world. But I'm also invigorated by the way that I am allowing myself to continuously battle the views that push me down, while staying vulnerable enough to allow my heart to be open in this world.


I shouldn't feel the need to say sorry, or have to be awkward, for being loud in public; for being the voice that speaks up to lead the roar. Just because I'm female, why am I made to feel like any attention I drawn to my presence in this world is an inconvenience? Women with opinions on equality are constantly called annoying; women who have the initiative and drive to lead movements are branded as control freaks, as bossy. Why, in 2020, do we still have people in high positions of power, such as the Boris Johnson and Donald Trump, who have a proven track record of not only misogynistic, degrading and down right vile attitudes towards women, but also hatefully and reproachfully attitude to anybody who is a minority.


There are systematic acts in place, and leaders that enforce them, that carry the message to anybody who is different - whether those difference exist due to gender identity, race, religion, sexuality, class, social position or anything else - that they are wrong and unwelcome. I am tired of living in a society where victim blaming occurs; where females are sexuality and degraded in the media and by social media users; where I'm told to be careful what I wear because the reaction that men could have towards me. I'm tired of being told that I can't be in touch with my emotions and also be strong; I'm tired of crying being seen as a weakness; I'm tired of my skirt length mattering more than the words I have to say.


Connectivity, primarily through social media, is both a blessing and a curse. We are exposed to hate and judgement on a daily basis, but we are also able to build each other up and support one another from wherever we are in the world. I'm proud of the way social media was able to educate young voters in the December General Election; I'm proud that we able to support each other through campaigns like the #metoo movement or Laura Bates' Everyday Sexism Project or the HeForShe initiative publicised by Emma Watson's UN speech.


We are becoming increasingly self aware, but also increasingly aware of others. Diversity should no longer be something we aim for, but rather something we embrace and actively encourage to be portrayed in media, so as to reflect the diversity of stories that exist in the word. There should not be taboo and stigma that makes people feel isolated from fear of hate; nor should we settle for anything more than equality in the world we now live in.


I'm a woman who has always been seen as smart; I love to learn and read but I'm also theatrical and have a flame of passion that ignites more each and every day. I care about social justice and equality, I love to play around with makeup and put outfits together; I love to listen to music and dance around my room. I wear tight dress and short skirts sometimes; other times I wear leggings and a hoodie. I don't always wear makeup when I leave the house, sometimes walking around in heels is when I feel the most powerful. I am short and lack physical strength, but that does not mean I am without my own mental army. I have both glammed myself up for Prom; and won a competition in public speaking. I have been a dancer, a gymnast, an actor, a writer and a music enthusiast; but I cannot cook to save my life. I am so much more than just what you see on the surface. I am loyal and stand up for the people I care about; I'm part of a team of leaders who get shit done week in, week out; but I cry at movies and I love glitter. I listen to music from Taylor Swift, to Machine Gun Kelly, to Green Day, to Les Miserables. I want a career, as well as a family, and I am not willing to sacrifice the possibility of one for the other, for my chase for success does not eliminate my desire to thrive in my personal life. I am not one image of what it means to be female, but rather thousands. I shouldn't have to apologise for any of the things that make me who I am, even if they make my existence too obvious for some people.


Celebrate the things that make you different, and celebrate the things about the people around you that make them different. It's time that we stop being divided by the things that set us apart, and move forward together under terms of equality and celebration of one another. I want to be the type of human being who builds up the people around me rather than competing against each other to be the most acceptable yet limited versions of ourselves, I would to project positivity into an ever negative world.


I urge everyone reading this to use your voice. Stand up for yourself and for the people around you; lift up the voices and the stories of the oppressed and vulnerable; and reach out a hand to the people around you. We have so much to learn, the only way we can do it is together.


Enjoy it all


Hollie x

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page